News

Need support for your Computers, Network, Broadband, Web or Email Hosting? Contact Our IT Experts Today

Security Alert: Google Docs phishing email

Google has suffered a severe widely spread phishing attack. This phishing process utilises a legitimate Google Docs sharing facility to gain access to individual’s personal details.

Google said in a statement:

“…[we] disabled offending accounts. We’ve removed the fake pages, pushed updates through safe browsing, and our abuse team is working to prevent this kind of spoofing from happening again.”

The unusual thing about this phishing attack is that it didn’t use the usual phishing tropes such as malware or fake websites to trick people into providing their passwords and personal details. The phishing attack works based on granting permissions to 3rd Party Applications; opening real Google accounts and then developing third party plugins that interact with Google services.google-docs-phishing

  1. You receive an email with a link saying “Someone added you to a Google Doc” with a button to click to view the document.
  2. When you click the button you are taken to a legitimate Google Account scene. On this screen, all of your Google Accounts are listed.
  3. Choose one account to view the document with
  4. A malicious service called ‘Google Docs.’ asks for access privileges¬†for your accounts, password resets, contacts and emails.

Now they have access to everything on that account!

However, all is not lost! You can revoke access, go your Google permissions page and revoke access for the program “Google Docs.”. Once this is done make sure you change your password.

You can access your Permissions page from here: Google Permissions

 

If you are worried that you might have been affected by this vulnerability then call us now on 023 80247 9820

    No Twitter Messages